Exposure Triangle- AP


  • Do five different f/stops of the same photo (f/5.6, f/8, f/11, f/16, f/22)
  • 5 different shallow depth of field photos (use aperture priority mode)

Exposure Triangle

Three elements (also known as the three pillars of photography)

  • ISO (International Organization of Standardization….it’s basically the exposure…light recorded on the image sensor)
  • Aperture (the opening of the lens that allows light to shine through…focal ratio aka f stop goes hand in hand with aperture)
  • Shutter Speed (exposure time)

This is a great link that really breaks down the three elements.

  • M–>Full Manual Mode (complete control over the camera’s functions)
  • A–>Aperture Priority (You have control over the aperture (or f-stop). This is great for achieving depth of field.
  • S–>Shutter Priority (you control the shutter speed…this is ideal for long exposures or capturing fast movement)
  • P–> Program Mode (semi automatic…you are able to control ISO, white balance, and flash)

Think of aperture as if it were a window. The larger the opening, the more light is allowed through. Aperture settings are referred to as f/stop (focal length)

You won’t notice a huge difference from f/stops that are next to one another, but there will be a remarkable difference between the lowest and highest f/stops.

Common F-Stops:

  • f/1.4
  • f/2
  • f/2.8
  • f/4
  • f/5.6
  • f/8
  • f/11
  • f/16
  • f/22
  • f/32